DIY Bobby Pin Holder

I have a little story for you today.

A few months ago, I made enchiladas.

Somehow, my mexican food cravings netted me a schmancy new bobby pin holder.

Neat, huh?

The best part is, I want you to be able to make a neat bobby pin holder without actually having to make enchiladas so I made a handy tutorial with only four easy steps! But you could, you know…make some anyway? Go to a restaurant and order one? If there is one thing I know besides how to make a holder for my beloved bobby pins, its that enchiladas are tasty. At least eat some guacamole or something. Then go make this!

can-1

Here’s proof of my enchiladas if you didn’t believe me:

IMG_1978

I don’t know if you’ve ever tried them, but shaking crispy sweet potato fries in a little bit of taco seasoning is seriously yum. 

Also, if you’re wondering why my “tortilla” looks all lumpy and weird, its because I didn’t use tortillas. I used these umm, pitas.

GetImageFromDB.aspx

source

Why?

1. They’re cheap! I think they’re only $2.18 at my Walmart.

2. I had no tortillas.

3. They have flax and healthy people things in them.

I’m sorry I sort of turned this DIY into a little enchilada chat. I do that sometimes, ramble on about food.

p.s. I’ll post the recipe for the enchiladas soon!

You’re probably wondering why you’re reading about all this enchilada talk when you came here looking for a fun little DIY project. Well, there was a reason for the enchilada story! I threw a can of green chiles into the enchilada filling and realized that it was the perfect size for holding bobby pins and ended up with this. For this project, you could use any tiny can, I’m thinking the size of a tomato paste, sauce, or mushroom can would also work pretty good. In addition to your label free and clean can you will need:

paper

Scrapbook Paper: I used this because I had it on hand, you can use whatever patterns and colors that makes you feel snazzy. Make sure the weight of the paper isn’t too heavy (like construction paper or card stock) because it won’t bend right or too flimsy (like tissue paper) because it will be hard to work with.

Untitled drawing-3

Ribbon: Again, use whatever ribbon you have on hand. Make sure it is fairly easy to manipulate so you can bend it around the can. The sequin ribbon I used actually worked really well because the line between each row of sequins helped me make sure my fold stayed straight around the entire can.

Untitled drawing-4

Glue Spots: Do. Not. Use. Tape. It might be quick, but the end result won’t look as polished when you are done. I found these glue spots at Walmart in the craft section, but you could go to a craft store like Michael’s or JoAnn as well.

DIY Bobby Pin Holder- Four Easy Steps:

1. Measure and cut paper to fit around the can. I did this by holding the top edge of the paper up against the can, drawing a line where I needed to cut it, and then folded the entire piece of paper. After I cut it out I had one long strip of paper, kind of like I made the can a new extra long label.

2. Affix the paper to the can. The easiest way to do this is by attaching two glue spots to one end of the paper and stick it onto the can. Wrap the paper around the can and trim the excess end of the paper strip, making sure to leave a little overlap to where you first attached the paper to the can. Put another two glue spots onto this strip and attach the last end of the paper to the can.

3. Cut ribbon to fit around the can. I don’t have a technical way of doing this either, I just half folded the ribbon around the can like I was going to attach it and cut it so I had a little overlap where the ends of the ribbon met.

4. Attach ribbon to the can. This step is a little tricky and might take a few tries. You have to do this section by section, adding glue spots to hold the ribbon secure as needed. I found it was helpful that my ribbon had a little give to it and I was able to move and tug on it after I put the glue spots on it until it looked right.

And that’s it!

Why I love this project:

  • It is so customizable; you can use different sizes of cans to fit your other storage needs. Makeup brush holder anyone?
  • It costs next to nothing to make.
  • It’s green! Who doesn’t love up cycling?
  • Having my bobby pins in a cup rather than wedged onto their original package makes styling my hair a lot easier. I can quick grab a pin when I need it, instead of stopping to yank each individual pin off of the cardboard. It also makes taking your hair out a snap, just toss them back in the cup.
  • It’s pretty! The little pop of pattern and sparkle makes getting ready in the morning a little less blah.
2 thoughts on “DIY Bobby Pin Holder

  1. So Cute! I made one and glued a magnet to the bottom of the cup, so that the pins don’t fall out when I knock the cup over.
    P.S. I love your site! 🙂

Leave a Reply

